The first students were accepted in the PhD programme at the Estonian Academy of Arts in 1995. The first doctoral theses were defended in the same year by external students (see the defended theses). In 2002, the curricula for architecture, art history, as well as cultural heritage and restoration were accredited.

In 2005, the Doctoral School was established at the Estonian Academy of Arts and a New Media and Design curriculum was added (since 2007, the Art and Design curriculum).

The decision-making bodies for the EAA doctoral studies and research in general are the board of the Doctoral School and the EAA Research Council.




Liina Unt

Head of the Art and Design PhD curriculum
E-mail: liina.unt@artun.ee
Meetings by appointment


Krista Kodres

Head of the Doctoral School
E-mail: krista.kodres@artun.ee
Meetings by appointment


Elika Kiilo-Kulpsoo

Coordinator of Doctoral Studies
E-mail: elika.kiilo@artun.ee

Mobile: (+372) 53 068 909
Estonia pst 7, room 535
Meetings by appointment