Support Services

 

STUDY COUNSELLING
If students have questions related to studies, they can contact their faculty members, tutors, study coordinators, foreign relations specialists, or employees of the Department of Academic Affairs (mari-liis.siig@artun.ee).

BUDDY STUDENTS
We have several volunteers who help new students to feel more welcome at the Estonian Academy of Arts. Buddies help to adapt to EKA by introducing the student life and providing with an opportunity to discuss problems from a student’s point of view. Buddy students can provide advice on how to find the necessary information and help in case you have questions about everyday life in Tallinn.

Buddy students 2020/21:

 – Viktoria Ugur, Interior Architecture, viktoria.ugur@artun.ee
– Ali Moafi Madani, Interaction Design, seyed.moafi@artun.ee
– Liis Aleksejeva, Art History and Visual Culture, liis.aleksejeva@artun.ee
– Marie Jõgi, Interior Architecturemarie.jogi@artun.ee
– Eliisabet Valmas, Interior Architecture, eliisabet.valmas@artun.ee
– Yufang Hu, Jewellery and Blacksmithing, yufang.hu@artun.ee
– Minni Tang, Cultural Heritage and Conservation, minni.tang@artun.ee
– Muyang Li, Jewellery and Blacksmithing, muyang.li@artun.ee
– Ingel-Kristen Veevo, Graphic Design, ingel-kristen.veevo@artun.ee
– Lisette Lepik, Painting, lisette.lepik@artun.ee
– Maria Tesla, Art History and Visual Culture, maria.tesla@artun.ee
– Eerika Niemi, Cultural Heritage and Conservation, eerika.niemi@artun.ee
– Sandra Jõesaar, Product Design, sandra.joesaar@artun.ee

ENTREPRENEURSHIP COUNSELLING
The goal of entrepreenurship counselling is to help the students make choices and decisions related to their education and careers. Counselling offers entrepreneurship program STARTUN, and also helps the students to learn about knowledgeable career planning, educational opportunities, the state of the labour market, and professions. It also promotes social engagement in the society as a whole. Students are better able to analyse themselves and their opportunities; to make informed decision, as well as plan and implement their personal career plans based on the principles of lifelong learning. Choosing a speciality is not the only career-related point of departure. It is also important to like and be satisfied by the chosen field.
The career counsellor also teaches students job searching skills – helps them to find suitable job offers, write their CVs and covering letters. Because in order to be self-confident during the interview and ready to answer complicated questions, a student needs to be prepared and to have undergone thorough self-analysis.
Counselling is available to the Academy’s students, graduates and entrants, and it is free to all these target groups.

Read more about entrepreneurship program STARTUN and start.artun.ee

PSYCHOLOGICAL COUNSELLING 

Our psychologist-career counsellor is available for discussing any topic troubling your mind. There is no such thing as a trivial problem and you may also come when there seems to be no particular concern but you just feel like talking to someone.

You can talk with the psychologist in confidence on all topics that trouble you, including:

· Adaptation problems

· Issues related to communication and relationships

· Stress, sadness or depression

· Low self-esteem and insecurity

· Decision-making and the respective difficulties

· Loss of inspiration and motivation, creative problems

· Learning motivation and examination anxiety

· Difficult and unexpected events in life

The psychologist helps the advisees to understand and express their problem better, supports them in coming to terms with their thoughts, feelings, wishes and fears and assists them in finding a solution.

Career counselling

The main issues in career counselling include finding a suitable job and type of work, decision-making and insecurity in career choices, writing a motivation letter and CV, preparing for job interviews. For students who work during their studies, also the relations at work and finding a balance between work and school.

The counselling sessions take place in D201, they are private and confidential lasting about 45 minutes. There are usually several sessions.

Counselling is free of charge.

Please contact for making an appointment.

TRIIN JUHANSON

triin.juhanson@artun.ee

IT HELP
The aim of the Academy’s IT Department is to ensure that the necessary ICT environment exists to ensure the execution of the Academy’s regulatory objectives. The assignments and field of activity described in the IT Department’s statutes include the development and management of the Academy’s data communications networks and the computer classes under the administration of the IT Department.
IT Department phone: 62 67 339