PhD Curriculum

The doctoral studies in Estonian Academy of Arts, Faculty of Architecture are divided into two directions: the traditional theoretical text based research and experimental design based research. The last one is also divided into two directions: creative practice research and research by design.

The doctoral studies include the following domains: planning, urban design, architecture, interior architecture and landscape architecture. Doctoral studies are aiming to develop and reflect creation, histories, theories and philosophy of these fields.

The more detailed aims of the doctoral studies are:

– Create new professional knowledge, which connect the spatial issues at large with the contemporary problems of society;

– Develop and introduce skills, new knowledge and professional competences to advance the sustainable development of environment;

– Create new professional knowledge and skills to collaborate with other areas of research;

– Develop existing and create new methods and strategies for research activity in spatial matters;

– To participate in the international cooperation of researchers and creative professionals of spatial matters.

In short: The doctoral studies in EKA, Faculty of Architecture aim to be creative, contemporary, sustainable, innovative, interdisciplinary and international.

Estonian Academy of Arts (EKA) and Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology (RMIT) have established cooperation within doctoral education through Cotutelle agreement. The partners have good experience of joint supervision through the PRS system (Practice Research Seminars). The candidates enrol in both schools and will qualify for a PhD degree at both institutions. The normal duration of the program is 4 years.



dr Siim Tuksam, The head of the doctoral programme in the field of architecture and urban planning

dr Anu Allas, EAA Vice-Rector for Research

dr Renee Puusepp, EAA Faculty of Architecture

dr Maroš Krivy, EAA Faculty of Architecture

dr Panu Lehtovuori, Tampere University of Technology

dr Klaske Havik, Delft University of Technology

Alternate members (theoretical text based research):

prof Andres Kurg, EAA
prof Jüri Kermik, EAA

Alternate members (experimental design based research):

prof Toomas Tammis, EAA
prof Suzie Attiwill, RMIT
dr Roland Snooks, RMIT

Secretary: Irene Hütsi



Siim Tuksam

Associate Professor, Researcher, Head of Architecture and Urban Planning PhD curriculum