The Rector is responsible for the everyday management of the university, the general status of the university and its development and the legitimate and effective use of financial resources. The Rector also appoints the vice rectors and determines their field of activity.

Professor Mart Kalm


Mart Kalm was born in Tallinn into a family of editors. He graduated from Tallinn II Secondary School (currently Tallinn Secondary School of Science). From 1979–1984, he studied history and art history at Tartu University. In 1991, he received a PhD from the Central Scientific Research Institute of Theory and History of Architecture in Moscow for his thesis on the architect Alar Kotli. In 1998, he defended his second PhD (= Habilitation) at the Estonian Academy of Arts on Estonian architecture culture during the interwar period.

As an architectural historian, Kalm has mainly studied the work of Estonian architects in the 20th century (before and after World War II). His most important work is the voluminous “Estonian 20th Century Architecture” (2001; Grand Prix of the Estonian Cultural Endowment in 2002). He has written a monograph on architect Alar Kotli (1994; Kristjan Raud Prize) and a book about Olev Siinmaa (2011), which was accompanied by an exhibition. He was awarded the national prize in history for the compilation “History of Estonian Art”, Volume V (1900–1940), published in 2010. He has written an architectural guide, “Functionalism in Estonia: A Guidebook” (1998), and participated in the compilation of several other reference books. In recent years, Kalm has been focusing his research on the architecture of collective farms in Soviet Estonia.

Mart Kalm has been active as an architecture critic and is interested in landscape and interior architecture. In his youth, he also published art and design criticism. He has often expressed his opinion on heritage issues and composed the heritage requirements for the conservation of the Riigikogu (Parliament) building, the Office of the President of the Republic of Estonia and villas at Rüütli 1a and Lõuna 2b in Pärnu. In 2004, he produced a series of TV broadcasts, “Muinas-TV” (Heritage TV).

Kalm has been a long-time member of the Expert Council for Architectural Monuments of the National Heritage Board, as well as the Head of the National Heritage Council from 2006–2010. From 2010–2013, he was the Co-Chair of the Estonian delegation to the UNESCO World Heritage Committee.

Since 1992, Mart Kalm has been working at the Estonian Academy of Arts. In 2000, he became a professor at the Academy, and from 1994–2007 he built up the Institute of Art History. From 2007–2012 he was the Dean of the Faculty of Art and Culture. In January 2015, he was elected the Rector of the Estonian Academy of Arts.

In 2010, Mart Kalm became the first art historian to be elected a member of the Estonian Academy of Sciences. Since 2014, he has held the position of Vice-President of the Estonian Academy of Sciences.

In 2018, Kalm was elected to the ELIA Representative Board and is also a member of its Executive Group.

Mart Kalm is married to the graphic artist Anu Kalm and they have two adult children, Gustav and Helga.

In 2020, Mart Kalm was re-elected as Rector of the Estonian Academy of Arts for a second term.

(The text may be used under the CC SA-BY 3.0 license.)

Government (until 31.12.2019)


The Council is a management body responsible for the long-term and sustainable development
of the Academy as well as for important economic, financial and assets-related decisions,
ensuring the achievement of objectives of the Academy.

The Council is made up of nine members:

Maria Mägi-Rohtmets  chairman
Krista Kodres  deputy chairman
Kadri Kruus
Arno Kütt
Eva Näripea
Siim Raie
Liina Siib
Toomas Tammis
Kalle Vellevoog

The authority of the Council shall commence on 1 January 2020. The Council members are confirmed for five years by the Government of the Republic.


The Senate is the university’s academic decision-making body which is responsible for
teaching and research and development work at the university and ensuring the high quality
of work in those areas. The chairman of the Senate is the Rector.

The Senate is made up of 22 members:

1) Rector Mart Kalm;

2) Vice Rector for Academic Affairs Anne Pikkov;

3) Vice Rector for Research Anu Allas;

4) Head of Administrative and Financial Affairs Andres Tammsaar;

5) Dean of Faculty of Architecture Andres Ojari;

6) Dean of Faculty of Design Ruth-Helene Melioranski;

7) Dean of Faculty of Art Culture Hilkka Hiiop;

8) Dean of Faculty of Fine Arts Reimo Võsa-Tangsoo;

9) Head of Open Academy Elise Jagomägi;

10) Representative of the students Margus Elizarov;

11)  Representative of the students Triin Metsla;

12) Representative of the students Markus Vernik;

13) Representative of the students Dana Vares;

14) Representative of the students Triin Vaino;

15) Representative of academic staff, Faculty of Architecture Eik Hermann;

16) Representative of academic staff, Faculty of Architecture Tüüne-Kristin Vaikla;

17) Representative of academic staff, Faculty of Design Piret Hirv;

18) Representative of academic staff, Faculty of Design Indrek Sirkel;

19) Representative of academic staff, Faculty of Art Culture Ingrid Ruudi;

20) Representative of academic staff, Faculty of Art Culture Virve Sarapik;

21) Representative of academic staff, Faculty of Fine Arts Taavi Piibemann;

22) Representative of academic staff, Faculty of Fine Arts Maria Erikson

The Rectorate

Rector Professor Mart Kalm Phone: 626 7300 E-mail: mart.kalm@artun.ee Office: Põhja pst 7, room D207.2 Vice Rector for Research Anu Allas Phone: 626 7110 E-mail: ...

The Government (until 31.12.2019)

For operative management the Rector has formed the government of the Academy. The government presents its advisory opinion to the Rector and the Council. Members of the Government Rector, vice president of Estonian Academy of ...

The Council (until 31.12.2019)

The highest collegial decision-making body of the Academy of Arts is the Council which meets at least four times a year. The Council approves the Academy’s development plans, new curricula, general regulations of studying, statutes of the units, ...

Board of Governors (until 31.12.2019)

The Board of Governors is an advisory body, an intermediary between the Academy and the society. The members of the Board of Governors are appointed by the Government of the Republic. The Board of Governors makes proposals to the Minister of ...